Skip to content

The best advice on writing?

by on 3 Jul, 2010

Reading the post on The best advice I ever received on 10,000 Words got me thinking about the tips I’ve received over the years.

The ones that stick in my mind tend to be the practical tips, designed to improve writing. Things like this one about quoting in features:

Only quote what you can’t say yourself.

It also made me think about some of the dispensers of advice. One was already on my mind because I had just been shocked by news of his death: John Sterlicchi.

John Sterlicchi

John Sterlicchi

He was my first news editor. A commanding physical presence with a character to match he ran a tight news desk. It’s hard to believe that he is not sitting somewhere now, asking: “Why is my intray empty?”

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

